Category Archives: Results

Winter of Wellbeing Cyfarthfa Results

Wow it was chilly at the start but you soon warmed up when you got moving. It was fantastic to see so many newcomers having fun and finding so many control points.

Congratulations to Tom Foord who collected all points in 29minutes, Andrew Raven first junior and first female Christine Farr (fifth overall).

Thank you to Mark, Clem, Duncan and Anthony for helping on the day. Wellbeing Merthyr for permission to use the park and the Outdoor Parnership for securing the Winter of Wellbeing funding.

See you all at Parc Penallta on 22nd January


Split times and checkpoints visited here

Winter of Wellbeing Cyfarthfa Park, Results

One Hour Challenge 60 min24 Controls
18190678Tom Foord Senior SWOC240 p (29:07)
28712019Tony UdrisSenior South Yorkshire Orienteers240 p (34:09)
38680543Andrew Raven Junior SWOC240 p (34:45)
48680544Christopher Raven Junior SWOC240 p (38:05)
5342253Christine Farr Senior SWOC240 p (38:53)
62049784Duncan Innes Senior SWOC240 p (39:07)
78030201Saskia Jones Senior240 p (39:18)
8438205Beth Cameron Senior NGOC240 p (48:52)
98628657Kevin Bush Senior SWOC240 p (49:34)
108657539Jill Manning Senior SWOC240 p (52:16)
112097492Lucy Hammond Senior240 p (53:29)
128667906Anthony Raven Senior SWOC240 p (53:47)
13401392Scott Kilbey Senior240 p (54:31)
148667906Anthony Raven Senior SWOC230 p (42:55)
158641854Peter RibbansSenior SWOC230 p (45:53)
16439060Jeremy DicksonSenior SWOC230 p (55:22)
17401395Kelly Rowe Senior226 p (63:22)
18401394Rhian Astley Senior226 p (63:26)
19401391Rachel Flint Senior219 p (60:12)
202097493Ian Standen Senior210 p (58:23)
21439061Caroline Tinsley Senior210 p (58:40)
222097483John SeawardSenior SWOC200 p (44:16)
23401401Donal Halloran Junior190 p (56:08)
24401408Vijay Mahavar-Snow Junior190 p (56:13)
25401410sion rowlands Senior190 p (59:44)
26401405hari rowlands Junior190 p (59:50)
278628568Jane Bush Senior SWOC189 p (60:47)
28439064Rose Cameron Junior NGOC180 p (57:44)
29333757Chris Burguess Senior 180 p (58:27)
30439056Richard Munn Senior180 p (59:52)
31439058Osian Munn Junior180 p (59:55)
32439059Emma Raven Junior170 p (39:35)
33401407Sanjeev Mahavar-Snow Junior170 p (39:41)
34401403nia rowlands Senior170 p (55:38)
35439051Daniel Bufton Senior170 p (55:39)
36401404daniel rowlands Junior170 p (55:40)
37439052George Bufton Junior170 p (55:48)
=2097500Elizabeth Bufton Junior170 p (55:48)
39439054Charlotte Bufton Junior170 p (56:05)
402097488Elin Merrifield Junior169 p (60:39)
412097489George Merrifield Junior167 p (62:23)
422097487Carys Merrifield Senior167 p (62:45)
=2097486James Merrifield Senior167 p (62:45)
44439065Francis Cameron Junior NGOC160 p (56:33)
45439068Richard Appleford Senior160 p (56:58)
46439066Ceridwen Boon Senior160 p (57:04)
47439070Evie Appleford Junior160 p (57:07)
482097490Jacob Haggerty Junior150 p (54:27)
49401397Rose Norris Junior140 p (58:48)
50401396Kevin Norris Senior140 p (58:49)
51439057Zac Munn Junior137 p (62:49)
52439055Bethan Collins Junior137 p (62:53)
53401390Anna Jones Junior90 p (36:12)
542097496Matt Webley Senior90 p (57:43)
552097495Ali Webley Senior90 p (57:44)
562097497Luna Webley Junior90 p (57:50)
572097498Bodhi Webley Junior90 p (58:06)
582097485Samuel Towie-Finney Junior50 p (30:38)
=2097484Samuel Towie-Finney Junior50 p (30:38)
60439053Alfie Bufton Junior50 p (179:33)

21/11/2021 Gwaelod Local Results

1Duncan BirtwistleOD32:57:00
2Stuart LewisSWOC38:08:00
3Richard CroninNGOC39:26:00
4Mark PonsfordSWOC43:12:00
5Gary DaviesSWOC46:15:00
6Christine FarrSWOC52:46:00
7Duncan InnesSWOC53:41:00
8Haydn GriffithsSWOC56:05:00
9Paul HarveyIND59:58:00
10Chris AtkinsBOK62:11:00
11Tessa LewisSWOC63:14:00
Gill LockSBOCmp
Siobhan LockSBOCmp
1Roger SteinSBOC40:23:00
2Peter RibbansSWOC50:00:00
3John MillsSWOC51:18:00
4Frank InceSWOC55:34:00
5Andrew RavenSWOC60:37:00
6Matthew FautleyNGOC61:05:00
7Peter ColbertSWOC61:54:00
8Graham ToughSWOC65:58:00
9Peter MaloneyNGOC71:54:00
10Eos DicksonIND73:42:00
11John DicksonIND73:46:00
12Anna DicksonIND73:46:00
13Susan ColbertSWOC113:52:00
Anthony RavenSWOCmp
Dave GrantBOFmp
Ausra CeglyteSWOCMP
Pablo NunezSWOCMP
1chris radbandind26:17:00
2Jacob HaggertyIND52:24:00
3Vijay Mahavar SnowIND57:27:00
4Donal HalloranIND57:28:00
Ffion GrantBOFmp
Seb Hopkins Jonesindmp
1Ella McDuffind25:04:00
2Donna GrantBOF28:27:00
3Sanjeev Mahavar SnowIND34:35:00
4Emma RavenIND34:35:00
5Max StrudwickIND35:56:00
6Stanley OíGradyIND36:10:00
7Chandra SundasIND41:39:00
8Finlay ProctorInd52:10:00
9Anna ProctorInd52:16:00

Thanks to Richard Cronin we eventually managed to sort out the problem with the start times.

I will also try and sort out the splits but it may take a while.

Hope you all enjoyed yourself and thanks to all of the helpers.

23/10/2021 Wenallt Local Results

Wenallt Results

Wenallt Splits



60 competitors took part in our SWOC league event on Saturday 23rd October, and it was great to see some new faces as well as many familiar faces.

Blessed with dry weather and a pleasant temperature for running everyone could enjoy the glorious mature beech forest, although the fall of autumn leaves had covered many of the footpaths !

Thanks to Ben for creating the map, Annemieke for planning and setting out some challenging courses, to Graham Tough for doing the timing, Nick Dallimore and Adrian Moir for their results and entries support and Mark, Alice and Charles for collecting controls.

We hope to see you all again at Gwaelod-Y-Garth, near Taff’s Well, in November.


Welsh Championships Results 2021

Results & Splits

Day 1 Middle Race

Middle Race Results by Class

Middle Race Results by Course

Middle Race Splits by Class

Middle Race Splits by Course

Day 2 Long

Long Race Results by Class

Long Race Results by Course

Long Race Splits by Class

Long Race Splits by Course


Day 1 Middle – all courses except Brown

Day 1 Middle – Brown only

Day 2 Long all courses


Welsh Champions 2021 list

Park Series 6 Bute Park Results



80 competitors took part in the final round of the Park Series on some fun courses in the park despite having to avoid the dinosaurs who have invaded the park! Congratulations to everyone who ran it has been fantastic to see the improvement of some of the newer members throughout the series.

Thank-you to all of the SWOC members who have volunteered their time to organise/plan/help on the day and also Cardiff Council and Rhondda Cynon Taf Council for permission to use the Parks.

Orienteering continues! Our next events are:

September 11/12th Welsh Championships Weekend near Merthyr (short and junior courses available).

September 15th evening MapRuns resume! An evening 1 hour challenge around the streets, starting off with Cardiff Bay.

October 23rd Saturday, Mynydd Y Gaer nr Bridgend, a great event if you have enjoyed the Park races. Courses for novices/improvers and juniors

Full details of all of the above will be posted up on facebook and the website

Ynysangharad Park Results



We headed north for a slightly soggy round of the park series in Pontypridd. The compact nature of the park meant that there was quite a bit of twisting to get the medium distance in the traffic-free area. Sorry to anyone who got confused by 119 and 120 being the wrong way round, I need to double check the control codes! The long course ventured out into the town and common with some tricky route choices, congratulations to Marcus who was fastest and only two minutes behind the computer optimum time. Finally, penblwydd hapus Dafydd, who decided to celebrate his birthday Orienteering!

Thank you to Mark and Caroline for helping with registration etc and Andrew, Mark, Alice, Marcus, and Mark for collecting the controls and ensuring we didn’t get locked in!

The final round of the Park Series is in a fortnight at Bute Park, Cardiff or if you want to try a non-urban event there is a one hour score on the moorland of Clydach Terrace near Brynmawr on Saturday 21st August entries for both on fabian4